Wizard spell roation

Discussion in 'Mages' started by PickleFaerie, Apr 3, 2013.

1. PickleFaerie New Member

HI! I am very new to this game and my Wizard is my first toon. I am in a raid guild, but with no other seasoned wizards. I was wondering if someone could explain a DPS rotation to me for raiding.

I have freehand sorcery and iceshield on a macro and I hit that first.. Then I hit catylist, then fusion. Then I hit Frigid Gift, then E'ci's Frozen Wrath.
    After that I hit freehand/iceshield whenever it is usable again, same with catylist and frigid gift, and then I go through my other spells as they are available. I'm not even sure the rotation I do have is right lol. I appreciate any help. Thank you :)
  2. Rotherian Well-Known Member

By viewing the casting time, the cooldown, and relative damage of each spell, you can get a good idea about which ones should be part of your "core" rotation, and which ones should be on an "as available" basis. Another factor to consider is which spells, if any, enhance your core spells. Also, there may be situations where you will need to skip one or more spells based upon scripts for certain fights*.

A lot of raiding, especially the closer you get to the end game, has certain things you have to do at certain times or risk having the situation go south pretty quickly. Luckily, many raid leaders are not at all hesitant about telling you if you aren't doing what you are supposed to at the right time**.

* Or at least change the order if you know that you will have to stop casting for x number of seconds when a certain /emote from the mob appears upon the screen.
    ** Granted, a lot of them aren't really nice about it, but since somebody either doing what they shouldn't, or not doing what they should, is effectively wasting the rest of the raid's time, it isn't very reasonable to expect a raid leader to be all sunshine and rainbows about it.
  3. Wuzzy New Member