Why are AA maxes FAR more effective than their Vehicular Counterpart?

Discussion in 'Vehicle Discussion' started by Spadar, Nov 23, 2012.

1. Honestly now. We've been bouncing up against this problem since early Beta.

As a pilot I would 1000% rather go up against 10 Skyguards than 10 Bursters. Why?

Skyguard:

• Render Range: maybe 800m? Ballpark guess here.
    • Similar damage compared to a dual burster max.
    • Can die in about one full salvo of Breaker Rockets. - This is another ballpark guess here, I don't ground pound often.
    • Large target, easy to hit.
    • Counts as a tank, meaning they can only be pulled at bases in contact with a friendly tech plant, or the warpgate.
    Dual Burster Max:

• Render Range: 200m Maximum, usually times much lower.
    • Similar damage.
    • Takes around 1.5 full salvos to kill.
    • Infantry sized target.
    • Can be pulled ANYWHERE. Including any AMS sunderer.
    The whole mechanic of having a unit that can engage their enemy at ranges of upwards to a kilometer, but cannot be seen or engaged until within 200M is ridiculous. This has been an ongoing problem, and evidently something simple like increasing MAX render range cannot be done, or it would have been done already.

To be honest, I would be all for completely revamping AA MAX capabilities into something that has an engagement range that reflects their render range. If this cannot be done, remove them altogether. It's a broken mechanic that makes for terrible gameplay. It's not much different than letting infiltrators run around perfectly stealthed at all times, but making them only use pistols. It doesn't matter how much you decrease their damage, it will always be a broken mechanic. If a change like that were to go through, Skyguards would need a serious overhaul as well. They're lackluster at best.